While packing for the move, a very important decision was (obviously) what nail polish to bring. The problem here was that I had to fit in basically my entire life (since this particular move is long term), into 20kg, though in the end they let me check in 25kg, thank goodness!

This meant that I couldn’t bring my whole collection, and moreover, I had to choose things with at least a modicum of practicality. :( Work appropriate colours, in particular. Cue many conversations like this:

Jayme: You already have a pink!

Me: *holding the two bottles side by side* This one is differeeeent! Kind of…

Jayme: *takes it away and hides it*

and this:

Jayme: You can’t wear sparkly blue to the office!

Me: *plaintively* On my toes? When I’m on holidayyyyy?

etc.

In short, she made me stick to what I said, and I ended up with a very sad, pruned, practical collection. Which is why, last week when I had a one day work function (I only really started work today!), I went with OPI’s Tickle My France-y.

There are no photos.

Mainly because the colour doesn’t suit me at all, and it was BORING. :( I’m sure I’ll take photos of it at some point, because I have a feeling I may be wearing a lot of it. So when I got back from the function, I immediately took it off and painted my tips and toes a bright red, Essie’s Lacquered Up. Such a mood lifter! I chopped all my nails short recently to get rid of all the chippiness* and flakiness, and I think the bright red looks awesome on the short nails.

* not really a word

Seeing as how this blog is called Tips & Toes, and there have been no toes evident so far, there is a foot photo coming up, so if feet squick you out, beware!

Essie Lacquered Up 1

Pre-cleanup I’m afraid. This really stained the skin around my nails, so it was actually quite difficult to clean up without messing up the rest of it.

Essie Lacquered Up 2

This was the first time in years that my fingernails and toenails matched, so I suppose it’s a fitting first foot .. foto. (Yay alliteration!) It was such a vibrant, bright red, it made me happier every time I looked at my nails (i.e. A lot). It was fairly pigmented as well, this was two coats, and I thought about stopping at one on my toes, though granted, this could be because I’m a little short sighted. :p

Anyway, all for now, second day of work up tomorrow, and I have another work appropriate colour on that I shall endeavour to photograph tomorrow morning. :)

